“MISS, CAN I HAVE ONE PLEASE?”

I was making my way home on the train after church with J when the most unexpected and unanticipated occured. I don’t know if you’ve ever experienced this before (if you have, feel free to drop a comment after you’ve read this post LOL) because J and I agree that this rarely/hardly happens and I am very obliged to share this incident with everyone.

I took out a packet of van houten’s raisin coated bite-sized chocolates as discreetly as I could (no I do not wish to be fined $500 for eating bite-sized chocolates on the train) because I HAD to fulfill my chocolate desires. I quickly popped one into my mouth and then offered some to J.

It was at that moment when a voice, loud enough to inform the whole train of his existence, with a thick, indian accent startled me.

“MISS, CAN I HAVE ONE PLEASE?!”

It belonged to an indian man, about 50 – 60 years of age, simply dressed, who was sitting directly opposite to where I was seated.

Flabbergasted, all I could do was stare with my eyes wide open and wonder if Ashton Kucher’s PUNK’D team actually made an unannounced trip to Singapore.

Or maybe it could’ve been worse.

Maybe it was the SMRT’s non-uniform team trying to catch incorrigible lawbreakers like me (I realise I’m always eating chocolates in front of surveillance cameras at MRT platforms) and so Singapore’s economy could benefit from a $500 fine.

 “MISS??? I WANT ONE CHOCOLATE PLEASE?”

By then, some of the male spectators were already laughing at that poor dumbfounded chinese girl. The indian man was still nonchalant!

 Hmmm, I found the indian man’s forthright bluntness COOL though! Sometimes when I see people eating something like french fries/crackers/chocolates in public, I feel very tempted to ask them for some too, especially when my stomach’s churning. LOL.

Anyway, as I reached out to place a piece in his outstretched palm, I activated my reflexes. I imagined the man grabbing my hand and then chewing it up like Hannibal Lector in Hannibal Rising.

HE REALLY DID.

HE GRABBED IT THEN LICKED IT AND WAS SCREAMING MADLY AND PEOPLE IN THE TRAIN HAD TO HOLD HIM BACK AND CARRY ME TO THE OTHER END OF THE TRAIN, FAR FAR AWAY FROM HIM.

Joke.

“Thank you miss, thank you very much! You want this? I got this for free from a malay wedding. Very nice people! They give me for free! You don’t want? No? Ok. I tell you ah…”

HE STARTED TELLING EVERYONE ABOUT HIS LIFE STORY.

“…Last time i was a sailor. I wear blue uniform and drive big ships! Very big you know! Then I also a pilot. I fly many many planes you know!… etetc”

He went on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on until he finally got off at bedok.

This is the third time I’ve had such strange encounter with an old indian man.

Leave a Reply

